Zero Order


Welcome!

Posted in Uncategorized by Amy Ross on May 27, 2010

So this is the inaugural post, in which I’ll answer a few questions: Who am I? Why this blog? What am I going to be talking about?

My name is Amy, and I’m a Bioengineering grad student. I am pursuing my Master’s degree at the University of Illinois at Chicago.  I’m currently doing research in the  Biomedical Polymer Science Lab in the College of Pharmacy, investigating enzyme penetration of hydrogels intended for use in drug delivery. (If you didn’t get all that, fear not! The explanations will come in time).

I started this blog for a few reasons. One, I like talking about the research I’m doing. I’ve written about it on my personal blog and people seem to be interested in reading it.  Here, I’m going to talk about what I do in more detail. Another reason is to practice communicating science to the general public. The media and the scientific community do a poor job of this, and it doesn’t help that science education in the United States leaves much to be desired.  Finally, there are very few bioengineers who blog, at least that I’ve found, and I think our profession could use a higher profile.

I plan to talk about my own research-the concepts, the methodology, the difficulties, and the process of research itself. I’ll also be talking about journal articles, seminars  attended, and science items in the news.

The next few entries will be  overviews of topics I’ll be talking about. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

