Zero Order


Speaking at Skepticamp

Posted in Uncategorized by Amy Ross on January 16, 2012

A little exciting news: I’ve signed up to speak at Chicago Skepticamp later this month.

What is a skeptic? I like this definition from Brainyquote.com, which  defines a skeptic as “One who is yet undecided as to what is true; one who is looking or inquiring for what is true; an inquirer after facts or reasons. ” We’re interested in exposing false information about   a variety of topics:

-ESP/Paranormal powers

-Ghosts

-Cryptozoology (e.g., Bigfoot)

-Alternative medicine

-Conspiracy theories

EDIT: Well, that’s odd. WordPress ate half my post. Short recap: my talk is titled “Stem Cells: Facts and Misconceptions”. I’m a little nervous since this is my first time at a skeptical event, but I did plenty of presentations in grad school and have a lot of practice speaking and thinking on my feet.  If you’re in the Chicago area and you’re interested in attending, there are spots open-and registration is free!
Leave a Reply

